TEC 10 OAT

History and objectives

In March 1996, the French government decided to issue an OAT linked to a new index tracking long-term yields, the “TEC 10" index. This decision was prompted by two objectives: meeting strong and diverse demand for such a product from investors and modernising the government’s floating-rate issues by creating a simpler benchmark yield that would be more representative of long-term yields and more in line with international practices.

The TEC 10 index was designed to be accessible to all French and international investors. The benchmark yield chosen is identical to the “Constant Maturity Treasuries” and “Constant Maturity Swaps” benchmarks already familiar to international investors. The TEC 10 index is calculated daily from the linear interpolation of the two OATs most closely matching the exact 10-year maturity on either side. These two OATs must have more than 20 billion francs in outstanding securities (approximately 3 billion euros). This means it corresponds to the yield of a notional OAT with a maturity of exactly 10 years.

The OATs benchmarked to the new index include two fully redeemed issues. The government issued these bonds with a fixed quarterly coupon. The OAT TEC 10 maturing on 25 October 2006 was the first to be issued by syndication on 9 April 1996. The government then tapped this issue at periodic auctions, to meet investor demand. A new security, maturing on 25 January 2009, was issued in March 1997. Sales reached 12.91 billion francs (1.97 billion euros) between May and July 1998, in response to strong market demand.

The outstanding amount of the two OAT TEC 10 issues reached 21.74 billion euros on 31 March 2002, breaking down into 11.89 billion euros for the OAT TEC 10 October 2006 and 9.85 billion euros for the OAT TEC 10 January 2009.

 

Technical characteristics

The OATs currently in issue pay fixed yields. Some OATs offer inflation-linked principal, as is the case of OATi and OAT€i issues. Up until 2009, there were also floating rate OATs linked to long-term yield benchmarks: On 9 April 1996, the French government issued the first floating rate OAT linked to a new index tracking long-term sovereign yields, the 10-year Constant Maturity Yield (TEC 10).

This issue modernised the French government's floating rate issues, while creating a simpler and more transparent benchmark yield that was more in line with international practices. The two OAT TEC 10 bonds issued in 1996 and 1997 have both been redeemed. They made such products more understandable for a wide range of investors, and investor interest in such bonds helped ensure the liquidity of both securities from the outset.

1. Benchmark yield

TEC 10: The 10-year Constant Maturity Yield (CNO-TEC 10) represents the yield to maturity of a notional OAT with a maturity of exactly 10 years. This yield is calculated from the linear interpolation of the secondary market yields of the two OATs most closely matching the exact 10-year maturity on either side.

Calculating the yield: This yield is calculated from the linear interpolation of the annual yields to maturity of the two Treasury securities most closely matching the theoretical 10-year maturity on either side.
The quotes are established on the theoretical settlement date in accordance with the practices on the secondary market and on the market segment concerned. At the time, this meant settlement at T+3 for OATs.

Benchmark OATs: Fixed-rate OATs redeemable at maturity with annual coupons and outstanding paid-up amounts in excess of 3 billion euros, with coupons paid on 25 January, 25 April, 25 July or 25 October.

Calculation and publication frequency: daily.

Publisher: Agence France Trésor. Agence France Trésor publishes the day’s TEC 10 value on its website and via the main financial information sites (www.aft.gouv.fr, Reuters <TRESORTEC10> page, Bloomberg TRESOR <GO>) in real time at around 3.00 p.m. The daily TEC 10 can also be found on the Reuters CNOTEC page.

2. Calculating accrued interest

“Predetermined" revisable rate: the upcoming coupon payment was set in advance and calculated in the same way as for a conventional bond (TEC 10).

3. Outstanding securities

The outstanding amount of the two OAT TEC 10 issues reached 21.74 billion euros on 31 March 2002, breaking down into 11.89 billion euros for the OAT TEC 10 October 2006 and 9.85 billion euros for the OAT TEC 10 January 2009.

TEC 10 historical data

10-year constant maturity rate (TEC10)

daily quotes

2018.09_tec10_uk.png

Source : Banque de France - Comité de Normalisation Obligataire

Download TEC 10 historical data on Banque de France website

L'OAT TEC 10

Lancement et objectifs

L'État a décidé en mars 1996 de lancer une obligation assimilable du Trésor indexée sur un nouvel indice de rendement des emprunts d'État à long terme, le "TEC 10". L'objectif de cette décision était double : répondre à la demande alors abondante et diversifiée des investisseurs pour un tel produit, et moderniser les émissions à taux variable de l'Etat avec la création d'une référence plus simple, plus représentative des taux d'intérêt à long terme, et mieux en accord avec les usages internationaux.

L'indice TEC 10 a été conçu de manière à le rendre accessible à l'ensemble des investisseurs français et étrangers. La référence choisie est parfaitement homogène avec des références largement connues des investisseurs internationaux, les "Constant Maturity Treasuries" et les "Constant Maturity Swaps". Le TEC 10 est un indice calculé quotidiennement par interpolation linéaire entre les deux OAT les plus proches de la maturité exacte de 10 ans (et d'un encours supérieur à 20 milliards de francs soit environ 3 milliards d'euros). Il correspond donc au taux de rendement d'une OAT fictive de maturité exactement égale à 10 ans.

Les OAT référencées sur ce nouvel indice, dont deux souches désormais entièrement remboursées ont été successivement émises par l’Etat, étaient dotées d'un coupon prédéterminé et trimestriel. L'OAT TEC 10 d’échéance le 25 octobre 2006 a été émise pour la première fois par syndication le 9 avril 1996. L'Etat a ensuite procédé régulièrement, et en fonction de la demande des investisseurs, à des abondements par adjudication. Une nouvelle ligne, d'échéance le 25 janvier 2009, a été créée en mars 1997. Elle a été adjugée à hauteur de 12,91 MdF (1,97 Md d'euros) entre mai et juillet 1998, pour répondre à une forte demande du marché.

L'encours des deux lignes d'OAT TEC 10  a ainsi atteint 21,74 milliards d'euros au 31 mars 2002, dont 11,89 milliards pour la TEC 10 octobre 2006 et 9,85 milliards pour la TEC 10 janvier 2009.

Caractéristiques techniques

Les OAT actuellement émises sont à taux fixe – avec, le cas échéant, un capital indexé sur l’inflation (cas des OATi et OAT€i). Il a également existé jusqu’en 2009 des OAT à taux variable indexé sur des références de taux à long terme : l'État a ainsi notamment émis, pour la première fois le 9 avril 1996, une OAT à taux variable indexée sur un nouvel indice des rendements à long terme des emprunts d'État, le Taux de l'Échéance Constante à 10 ans (TEC 10).

Cette émission avait alors modernisé les émissions à taux variable de l'État, avec la création d'une référence plus simple, plus transparente, et mieux en accord avec les usages internationaux. Les caractéristiques des deux OAT TEC 10, successivement émises en 1996 et 1997 et désormais toutes deux remboursées, permettaient d'améliorer la lisibilité du produit par une large gamme d'investisseurs et l’intérêt exprimé par ceux-ci pour de telles obligations, et assuraient ainsi d'emblée une bonne liquidité aux deux titres concernés.

1. Le taux de référence

TEC 10 : Taux de l'Echéance Constante à 10 ans (CNO-TEC 10). Il représente le taux de rendement actuariel d'une OAT fictive d'échéance exactement égale à 10 ans. Le TEC 10 est obtenu par interpolation des taux sur le marché secondaire des OAT encadrant une maturité exacte de 10 ans.

Modalités de calcul : Ce taux est obtenu par interpolation linéaire entre les taux de rendement actuariels annuels des 2 valeurs du Trésor qui encadrent au plus proche la maturité 10 années théorique.

Ces cotations étaient établies à valeur en date de règlement / livraison théorique, selon les normes en usage sur la place sur le marché secondaire et pour le segment de marché considéré (alors J + 3 ouvrés pour les OAT).

Sélection des OAT de référence : OAT à taux fixe in fine, à intérêt annuel, d'un encours (réglé) supérieur à 3 milliards d'euros et détachant leur coupon un 25 janvier, avril, juillet ou octobre.

Périodicité de calcul et de publication : quotidienne.

Agent de publication : Agence France Trésor. Chaque jour aux environs de 15h, l'Agence France Trésor publie la valeur du TEC 10 du jour sur son site internet et par l'intermédiaire des principaux systèmes de rediffusion d'information financière en temps réel (www.aft.gouv.fr, page Reuters <TRESORTEC10>, Bloomberg TRESOR <GO>). Le TEC10 quotidien est également disponible sur la page Reuters CNOTEC.

2. Calcul du coupon couru

Taux révisable "prédéterminé" : le prochain coupon était fixé à l'avance ; le calcul s’effectuait comme pour une obligation classique (TEC 10).

3. Encours

L'encours des deux lignes d'OAT TEC 10  a atteint 21,74 milliards d'euros au 31 mars 2002, dont 11,89 milliards pour la TEC 10 octobre 2006 et 9,85 milliards pour la TEC 10 janvier 2009.

Historique de l'indice TEC 10

Taux de l’échéance constante à 10 ans (TEC10)

valeurs quotidiennes

2018.09_tec10_fr.png

Source : Banque de France - Comité de Normalisation Obligataire

Télécharger les données de l'indice TEC 10 sur le site de la Banque de France.